Pellets...

dbk402

Reaction score
Anyone out there buying, trying different pellets other than Weber brand? Local Costco sells Traeger and I'm considering because of the price point. Thoughts? Suggestions?

I purchased a 40Lb bag of B&B Competition Blend pellets for $14.95 at my local Academy Sports store. They provide good smoke and seem to give off less ash than the Weber pellets. The pork loin I cooked @ 350 with these pellets tasted great and had a nice smoke ring. I did, however, have the issue with the pellet feed cavity that formed around and above the auger entry area causing a flame out. At first I thought perhaps it was the pellets, but now based on so many others reporting the issue even with Weber pellets I now know it's a hopper design issue, not the brand of pellets.

I have been thinking about trying some Lumberjack pellets. I've seen quite a few people recommend them. This is my first pellet grill so I've never used them before. I grabbed two bags of Weber grillmaster blend when I bought my EX4 and went back to Lowe's and grabbed three more bags Sunday.

B&B have been working great for me because I cannot get the Weber ones local here yet. To be fair I have only gone to 1 of the 3 Lowes we have in the area. I did order a cover, hickory, and apple pellets (did not have the competition blend online) directly from Weber yesterday and they got delivered today. Bonus to living only 5 hours from Chicago :)

I started off with the Texas blend of Green mountain grill. Gave the meet a nice flavor. Had my last cooks on the Pitboss Hickory. Less smoke and less flavor so far.

I really like the Treager gourmet blend at Costco for fish, poultry and chicken. I like the cooking pellets 40PM mix on Amazon too. For beef my favorite is the Treager Texas beef mix. I have used Treager, cooking pellets and green mountain pellets in my EX6 and have not had any issues since removing the guard.