Taking forever

MrPhilGrillTX

SOTM Winner
Reaction score
Grill
EX6 (+ a kettle from 2003)
Second cook on the EX6, so I'm still learning.
8.5 lb bone in pork shoulder on since at least 8:30 this morning (now almost 10:30) Just now getting to 180. I wrapped around 165 with butcher paper which was around 6:00, and increased the temp in the last 30 minute to 275 from 225. I put a water pan beneath it, and topped it off once, but now I'm leaving it alone. Suggestions? I might just bring it in and finish in the oven. Refilled (topped off) the hopper twice.
I had read about the stall, but this is getting ridiculous. Hit 150 around 3 or 4 this afternoon, and has been crawling since.

Second cook on the EX6, so I'm still learning.
8.5 lb bone in pork shoulder on since at least 8:30 this morning (now almost 10:30) Just now getting to 180. I wrapped around 165 with butcher paper which was around 6:00, and increased the temp in the last 30 minute to 275 from 225. I put a water pan beneath it, and topped it off once, but now I'm leaving it alone. Suggestions? I might just bring it in and finish in the oven. Refilled (topped off) the hopper twice.
I had read about the stall, but this is getting ridiculous. Hit 150 around 3 or 4 this afternoon, and has been crawling since.
At 225 you could easily be looking at 2 hours per pound, making yours a possible 16-17 hour cook. Starting at 275 puts you in the 1.5 hour per pound range. Of course that's all just rule of thumb. BBQ is done when it's done. And and this point finishing it in the oven is the same as on the SF. It's really not going to take on any more smoke.

Ok. I was thinking 1.5hr per pound. I may have to move it to the oven as I'm burning through the pellets. I think I'm running close to 2lbs/hr. Thanks. (Waves from Ft Worth)

Each shoulder (butt) is unique. I have had two side by side take 12 and 18 hours to get to 203. It's done when it's done.