WSR vs WSM

Sudz

Reaction score
I'm trying to understand the SF differences with cook results for those of you that have a Smokey Mountain. I have a highly modified WSM which is a pleasure to use but admittedly a bit of a hassle to prep and clean. It does very well at smoking all the typical meats we generally discuss in the BBQ world. I only use it for longer cooks because the convience factor is not there for quick cooks. I've been eager to grab a SF but given the present situation with the product, I'm somewhat hesitant.

I'm willing to take a bit of a risk if the sucessful cook is not a step backward from the WSM. I have no experience with pellet grills. Never had a bite from something cooked on one.

So can someone help me to understand the differences between the two with respect to taste? Does one make beter BBQ than the other?

Cheers...

For me I have both but only used the WSM occasionally because of the setup and cleanup times. Of the few things I’ve done on both I think WSM maybe had slightly more smoke flavor. The issues people have experienced are concerning for the cost of the SmokeFire Though. I‘ve had a couple issues but overall the food I’ve made has been great. I really like salmon fillets off the SmokeFire way better than my WSM or Genesis. The convenience factor over the WSM is huge for me at least.

I'm trying to understand the SF differences with cook results for those of you that have a Smokey Mountain. I have a highly modified WSM which is a pleasure to use but admittedly a bit of a hassle to prep and clean. It does very well at smoking all the typical meats we generally discuss in the BBQ world. I only use it for longer cooks because the convience factor is not there for quick cooks. I've been eager to grab a SF but given the present situation with the product, I'm somewhat hesitant.